Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Tombland

    £12.99
    The seventh Shardlake novel in C. J. Sansom's bestselling historical crime series. With England on the brink of collapse, a peasant rebellion forces Matthew Shardlake to examine where his loyalties truly lie . . .
    ISBN: 9781035012312
    AuthorSansom, C. J.
    PublisherNamePan Macmillan
    Pub Date09/05/2024
    BindingPaperback
    Pages880
    Availability: In Stock

    'C. J. Sansom's books are arguably the best Tudor novels going' - The Sunday Times

    Tombland is the seventh epic novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

    England, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos. The economy is in collapse, inflation rages and rebellion is stirring among the peasantry . . .

    Since the old king's death, Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henry's daughter, the Lady Elizabeth. The gruesome murder of Edith Boleyn - a distant relative in Norfolk - sends Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton to the summer Assizes at Norwich. And then East Anglia explodes, as peasant rebellion breaks out across the country. The yeoman Robert Kett leads a force of thousands in overthrowing the landlords and taking over Norwich, England's second largest city.

    Now Shardlake must decide where his ultimate loyalties lie, as government forces in London prepare to march north and destroy the rebels. Meanwhile he discovers that the murder of Edith Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the Norfolk gentry and the rebel camp itself . . .

    This is the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's thrilling historical series that started with Dissolution. Includes an Historical Essay from the author on Reimagining Kett's Rebellion.

    Write your own review
    *
    *
    • Bad
    • Excellent
    *
    *
    *
    *

    'C. J. Sansom's books are arguably the best Tudor novels going' - The Sunday Times

    Tombland is the seventh epic novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

    England, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos. The economy is in collapse, inflation rages and rebellion is stirring among the peasantry . . .

    Since the old king's death, Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henry's daughter, the Lady Elizabeth. The gruesome murder of Edith Boleyn - a distant relative in Norfolk - sends Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton to the summer Assizes at Norwich. And then East Anglia explodes, as peasant rebellion breaks out across the country. The yeoman Robert Kett leads a force of thousands in overthrowing the landlords and taking over Norwich, England's second largest city.

    Now Shardlake must decide where his ultimate loyalties lie, as government forces in London prepare to march north and destroy the rebels. Meanwhile he discovers that the murder of Edith Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the Norfolk gentry and the rebel camp itself . . .

    This is the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's thrilling historical series that started with Dissolution. Includes an Historical Essay from the author on Reimagining Kett's Rebellion.